Welcome, Guest

TOPIC: Diabetes and Festivals

Diabetes and Festivals 3 months 1 day ago #2216

• Trigger
  • Fresh Boarder
Not an over interesting topic, but it's my first festival and I'm diabetic so I wonder if anyone had any tips to keep in mind? Already thought of the obvious, like keeping a stack of Dextrose Tablets, giving an insulin pen or two to a friend to keep safe incase of emergencies, BM kit and all the usual.

Realise this is a bit specific as well so may not get much advice, but thanks for reading!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Diabetes and Festivals 3 months 1 day ago #2217

• Hemlox
  • Administrator
  • Sky Pirate
  • Thank you received: 110
We'll always do what we can to help I'm no expert on diabetes but my own personal recommendations would be to make sure your friends know what to do in the event of an emergency, and also wear a medical wristband you can get engraved (you may already do this).

Sorry if these are all obvious things!
The following user(s) said Thank You: Trigger

Diabetes and Festivals 3 months 1 day ago #2220

• Trigger
  • Fresh Boarder
It's the obvious stuff that's often forgotten, so thanks!

Diabetes and Festivals 2 weeks 2 days ago #2647

• TimeTravelVandal
  • Fresh Boarder
  • You're Welcome
  • Thank you received: 1
Hey there Trigger, I've been a diabetic since 2010 and have gone to Download 2010, 2012, 2013 and Sonisphere 2011 and 2014 as a diabetic

The only major problems I have had with it as a festival were in 2010 when I didn't know I was diagnosed with it and Download 2013 where the long walk between the arena and campsite in the blistering heat caused me to hypo.

You have covered most of the things you would need to do which is excellent Just tell your friends also to watch out for particular symptoms such as if you need to start urinating a lot or become dangerously thirsty very frequently.